KATHMANDU: A complaint has been registered against four persons including former Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai under the Electronic Transaction Act for cybercrime.

The District Attorney Office has registered the complaint as per Section 47, Section 53, 54, 58 (a), 74 of the Electronic Transactions Act, 2063 BS.

According to Information Officer Numraj Khanal, the complaint was lodged by Sanjeev Kumar Jha on behalf of the National Youth Association of Nepal and Narayan Gharti on behalf of All Nepal National Free Student Union (ANNFSU).

The complaint has been lodged against ex-PM Bhattarai, Hisila Yami Bhattarai, Biswadeep Pandey and Angkaji Sherpa. Complaints have also been lodged with the National Human Rights Commission.

The complaint was filed against them for ‘making baseless accusations’ against Nepal Communist Party (NCP) lawmakers Mahesh Basnet, Kisan Shrestha and former Inspector General of Police Sarbendra Khanal for abduction.

Earlier, the attorney office and the Metropolitan Police Range had refused to lodge the complaint.

The attorney office has also registered a complaint against NCP lawmakers Basnet and Shrestha and ex-IGP Khanal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here